natural (re)born yogi

This WordPress.com site is about my path in life, through yoga and music

Yoga and body modifications

20130320-125855.jpg
Let’s start with a little reminder.
Before starting Yoga, I’ve been struggling for years with weight issues and bad self acceptance. Almost twenty years of struggling, with bad life issues, worst was my mother’s death when I was sixteen. Low self confidence, weight issues… Then this wonderful first steps in the hot room. It was really violent to face yogis with amazing bodies, amazing balance and flexibility, and even worse to face myself in the mirror. And this first class ever healed almost everything all in once.

20130320-130549.jpg
First one was needles phobia, I first had some check ups with blood tests, then… Tattoos, and now a couple of piercings…
It is said that body is a temple. I had this struggling in mind, then decided to decorate the walls of this temple… I’m not trying to push any one with confidence or acceptance issues to do the same. I just found a way for me, with body and mind reunited thanks to Yoga, to take control again of my body, of my life. Body can also be seen as a journal, you can now read a bit of my story on my body. I know Bikram doesn’t like tattoos, and I can understand for it can be seen as a violent act against body, to me it’s been a wonderful support to enjoy this body again, to accept myself, to heal my mind. With those decorations I see a better self in the mirror, I even enjoy it. And with Yoga now, I’m proud of being inspiring for people around, and so grateful to be surrounded and inspired by all of you!!
With all my love
PS why a dragon? We just ended year of the dragon, and my chinese sign is the fire dragon… It’s said that years of the dragon are years of big transformations, perfect time for me huh?

20130320-132238.jpg

20130320-132255.jpg

20130320-132326.jpg

20130320-132335.jpg

4 comments on “Yoga and body modifications

  1. Melissa
    November 20, 2013

    Fantastic body art, inspiring blog. I practice Bikram in San Francisco, CA. Hope you get to Teacher Training soon!

    • naturalrebornyogi
      November 20, 2013

      I might consider another one actually… I applied for the fall session and was not accepted.
      Btw, thx for the comment, namaste!!

  2. 反向連結
    September 1, 2014

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it
    much more enjoyable for me to come here annd visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Excellent work!

    • naturalrebornyogi
      September 1, 2014

      No no, it’s one of the free designs offered by wordpress… Btw thank you!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 20, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , .
