natural (re)born yogi

This WordPress.com site is about my path in life, through yoga and music

Ustrasana, the Camel pose

The Camel pose is the deepest backbend of a hot yoga class, let’s introduce it first with Bikram’s picture and description:

20130403-212354.jpg
Benefits :
Camel Pose creates maximum compression of the spine, which stimulates the nervous system.

It also improves flexibility of the neck and spine, relieves backache, and helps degenerative spinal problems such as kyphoscoliotic deformities and cervical spondylosis.

By stretching the abdominal organs, Camel helps constipation, and it also stretches the throat and thyroid and parathyroid glands.

Actually, I’ve had struggles for months with this one… Here’s where I started, a year and a hall ago:

20130403-212602.jpg
This posture is really scary for beginners, making you feel very vulnerable opening that much your chest, you need a really strong mind to feel safe with this one, to be able to keep focus on a deep calm breath…
But when you begin, you need to take care of your lower back, that’s why you should keep hands on your butt for a while before considering to grab your heels.
Here now where I was after six months:

20130403-213141.jpg
Then, a few weeks after that one, I felt… Ready to start giving a try. Back in Gent, I let my hands gang down, and I’ll always remember my teacher telling me “you’re almost there!!”, then the class after, I grabbed those heels, and I had the chance to feel the huge emotional potential of this amazing posture, the grand opening of the heart chakra!!! The savasana after camel, my body was shaking, I cried, feeling emotions, kinda relieved, amazing letting go…
Here I am now:

20130403-213818.jpg

As often with this yoga, from one class to another you can make your favorite a posture you hated, you just have to surrender to teacher and heat, forget expectations, accept struggles… Easy huh?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , .
