natural (re)born yogi

This WordPress.com site is about my path in life, through yoga and music

Supta-Vajrasana, the fixed firm pose aka the sleeping hero

I’ve been struggling with this one for a while, actually a year and a half, then, magic happened…

By the way, as for camel, let’s introduce it first with Bikram himself:

20130410-071131.jpg
Benefits :
Fixed Firm Pose strengthens and improves the flexibility of the lower spine, hips, knees and ankle joints.

It increases circulation to the lower limbs, and is therapeutic for lower back pain, sciatica, rheumatism and varicose veins.

It helps prevent hernias.

When I first considered this one, my tricky mind just send me a big “ouch!!!”. And, obviously, with over weight, my knees were a bit damaged. So… Tricky mind and injured knees did scare my heart. And teachers insisted on taking care of the knees, so, here I started:

20130410-071529.jpg
Yes, I know…
This posture is supposed to be a breeze, it’s been torture to me…
6 months later:

20130410-072001.jpg
Body up, but still looking down…
6 extra months:

20130410-072112.jpg
See? Just looking up… It took me a year!! And still scared by bad knees…
Then happened something special, I had a chance to talk about it with a close friend, she’s a dedicated yogini and a yoga teacher indeed. She inspired so much trust I dared to go back a bit, and without her help, even with Bikram himself pushing, I would never have given a try to go down… And that’s what happened, remember? I’ve met the Boss in Paris a few weeks ago…
He pushed,
I went down…
My friend, you know who you are, this post is dedicated to you, warm hugs, me and my knees send you love and gratitude, here I am now:

20130410-072721.jpg

13 comments on “Supta-Vajrasana, the fixed firm pose aka the sleeping hero

  1. tlhicksglow
    April 10, 2013

    Awesome progress! Congratulations!

  2. Hi I am so glad I found your site, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Aol for
    something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic
    post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  3. Angie
    May 14, 2013

    Right away I am going to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming again to read
    more news.

    • naturalrebornyogi
      May 14, 2013

      How was breakfast? Healthy of course? Enjoy, looking forward to more comments 😉

  4. Hello, I do believe your website may be having internet
    browser compatibility issues. When I take a look at your blog in Safari,
    it looks fine however when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!

    Apart from that, wonderful site!

  5. green smoke coupon
    July 16, 2013

    Hi to every , since I am really keen of reading
    this weblog’s post to be updated regularly. It consists of nice data.

  6. Stephanie
    January 9, 2014

    Truly inspiring!

  7. hupsista.fi
    May 13, 2014

    I am really thankful to the holder of this site who has shared this
    enormous article at at this time.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
