natural (re)born yogi

This WordPress.com site is about my path in life, through yoga and music

Salabhasana, the Locust pose

And here I am, back with a new posture post!!!

This one has been inspired by a friend who’s been teaching a class I took almost a week ago…

But first, as previously, let’s introduce the posture with the Boss:

Image

Benefits : 

  • Locust Pose has many of the same benefits as Cobra, but it is even better for slipped discs and sciatica.
  • It strengthens the upper spine, and the uncomfortable stretching of the arms can actually relieve tennis elbow.
  • Locust can also help with varicose veins in the legs.

This posture is not one of the most comfortable… Your heart rate increase, your entire body weight compresses your elbows… When you can bring your arms under your body, when I started two years ago, I just couldn’t even consider it with my weight and body shape:

Image

See? Even with arms on my side, I couldn’t lift my legs that much… But, as with the Bow (couldn’t grab my feet), the Camel (couldn’t grab my heels), I worked one step at a time, as you’re supposed to, with patience, and postures I hated turned into postures I really appreciate now!!

Image

See after only 6 months? But the best is to come…

As I said, during last sunday class, taught by a friend, something happened. It was just the second class I took with her, and I really wanted to honour his teaching and our friendship. And I was feeling strong. And the class was strong, we all have felt this sometimes you just have to float on the collective energy. Sometimes the whole class act as only one strong student. And I had a nice improvement, with arms in the right position:

Image

 

 

6 comments on “Salabhasana, the Locust pose

  1. Andrea Leber
    October 4, 2013

    I just clicked around here a bit and wanted to tell you that what you’re doing is very impressive! Gosh, I have the utmost respect. It’s nothing to step on the mat if you’re a gymnast or dancer. The real work (and I believe: the real yoga) happens when you learn how to overcome obstacles.
    The naturally gifted accomplish nothing but the perfect postures, and in yoga, that’s like the part of the iceberg above the water. The real stuff starts when you dive down…

    All the best for your journey!

    Andrea

  2. MIke Mitchell
    October 4, 2013

    Way to go! Keep it up! Great dedication! I don’t think these poses ever get easy but you definitely get better and stronger if you keep doing them.

  3. jamhunt
    October 5, 2013

    Amazing! Such dedication! You should be so proud of what you are achieving!
    Keep striving! 🙂

  4. Lenny
    October 5, 2013

    so proud of you dear BatmanJean! yoga looooove ^^
    -Lenny-

  5. tallmartha
    October 6, 2013

    Congrats! Looks awesome!!

  6. Elena Shih
    January 5, 2014

    Thank you! Have such negative thoughts about this pose. Didnt know that it was good for slipped discs. Thank you for the inspiration to keep going.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , .
